Westmount Hospitality Group
Sudbury's Most Complete Local Sports Coverage
Skaters Edge Source for Sports
  In-Season | Off-Season
High School Sports
Laurentian/Cambrian/Boreal Sports
Track & Field/Road Racing
Elementary School Sports
Boxing/Judo/Wrestling/Martial Arts
ParaSports - Special Olympics
Canoe/Rowing/Dragon Boat/Kayak
Equestrian Events
This Week in Sports
Announcements (tryouts/tournaments/registration)
Paul Lefebvre - MP for Sudbury
T. Michael Hennessy, Law Office
Saturday, Sep. 22, 2018
Finalists confirmed for Hall of Fame annual awards
by Randy Pascal

The finalists for the annual awards that are handed out at the Sudbury Sports Hall of Fame Dinner have been confirmed, with several athletes and teams who have achieved national recognition dotting the list.

From the familiar faces of Rebecca Johnston, Kayla Folz, Dale Beausoleil and a slew of curling talent, to newcomers such as Collin Cameron (para-nordic skiing), Kadre Gray (Laurentian basketball) and Dylann Mazzuchin (high school athletics), the array of talent is impressive, to say the least.

The 2017 Hall of Fame Dinner will take place on Wednesday, June 14th, upstairs at the Carsuso Club, beginning at 5:30 p.m. In addition to recognizing a slate of new inductees that includes Pat Pickard, Bill McKetsy, Ron Didone, Bob Rogers, Mary Waddell, Mario Anselmo, Andy Barbe, Mike Derks and the 1999-2000 Rayside-Balfour Sabrecats team, the evening will see winners named in each of the following categories:

Amateur Female Athlete of the Year
Kayla Folz (Sudbury Laurels - Gymnastics)
Jenna Hellstrom (Kent State Golden Flashes - Soccer)
Tiffany Johnson (Cambrian Golden Shield - Soccer)

Amateur Male Athlete of the Year
Charles de la Riva Jr (Sudbury YMCA - Squash)
Michael Marcantognini (Michigan State Spartans - Soccer)
Connor Vande Weghe (Laurentian Voyageurs - Soccer)

Import Athlete of the Year
Kadre Gray (Laurentian Voyageurs - Basketball)
Riley Knorad (Laurentian Voyageurs - Swimming)
Mary Strain (Cambrian Golden Shield - Cross-Country)

Professional Athlete of the Year
Dave Brisebois (National Hockey League - Linesman)
Nick Foligno (Columbus Blue Jackets - Hockey)
Rebecca Johnston (Team Canada - Hockey)

Elite Athlete of the Year
Collin Cameron (Laurentian Nordic - Para-Nordic Skiing)
Curtis Halladay (Laurentian Rowing - Para Rowing)
Ross Proudfoot (Speed River - Distance Running)

Coach of the Year
Dale Beausoleil (Cambrian Golden Shield - Women's Volleyball)
Patti Kitler (Laurentian Nordic - Para-Nordic Skiing)
Aaron Rehel (Sudbury Gladiators - Football)

Team of the Year
Krysta Burns U Sport rink (Laurentian Voyageurs - Curling)
Krysta Burns U21 rink (Idylwylde Golf & Country Club - Curling)
Sudbury Gladiators (Ontario Football Conference - Football)

Bill Roman Administration Award
Marisue James (Sudbury Playground Hockey League, Sudbury Youth Basketball League)
Joe McColeman (Nickel District Hockey League)
Gary Petrin (Official - Lacrosse, Hockey, Football)

High School Female Athlete of the Year
Allison Byrnes (Marymount Regals - Flag Football, Soccer, Track & Field)
Gracen Lacko (Lo-Ellen Park Knights - Golf, Volleyball, Tennis, Badminton)
Dylann Mazzuchin (Lo-Ellen Park Knights - Cross-Country, Basketball, Track & Field)

High School Male Athlete of the Year
Max McGillivray (St Benedict Bears - Football, Basketball, Track & Field)
Callum Roque (St Charles College - Football, Hockey, Basketball, Soccer)
Dylan Terris (Lasalle Lancers - Volleyball, Basketball)

High School Team of the Year
Lo-Ellen Park Knights - Nordic Ski team
Lockerby Vikings - girls curling team
Marymount Regals - girls flag football team

Sudbury Spine & Sports Clinic
About Us | Contact Us | Advertising | Legal
© 2003 SudburySports.com. Design by Adélie Solutions