Sudbury's Most Complete Local Sports Coverage

Date Published:  February 23, 2014

Donated in 1907 and first contested in 1910, the Anderson CupAnderson Cup might well be the trophy that enjoyed the longest run within the Sudbury sports scene. The trophy was presented initially to the league champion of the Sudbury District Football Association, a group that was later renamed the Sudbury Regional Soccer Association.

Although first captured by Garson in 1910, the trophy has enjoyed multiple stops with storied local soccer teams, including the Falconbridge Falcons, Croatia Adria, Italia Flyers, Team Toyota, Sudbury Olympias and the Ukrainian Tridents.

The Cup was originally donated by John Anderson, a businessman who moved to the area around the turn of the century. An "official" league took roots in 1911, with entries from Garson, Espanola, Copper Cliff, Mond and Sudbury.

Once referred to as "the beloved patron of all that was clean and fine in sports" in a local newspaper column, Anderson started business in Sudbury in 1901, hiring men for the bush and the mines.

According to some, stories regarding the generosity of Anderson were common place during a time that he proprietor of both a candy and ice cream store in Copper Cliff. Apparently, the only stipulation that he gave at the time of donating the Cup was that a team had to win three years in succession in order to hold the prestigious mug throughout the off-season.

The trophy was presented every year save for World War I (1917-1918), World War II (1941-1945) as well as a brief two year stint (1922-1923) where no organized league existed, right through until the turn of the new millenium.

Dominant teams over the 100+ year history of the Anderson Cup have included:

Falconbridge Falcons (winning 7 times in a span of 13 years from 1931 to 1947)
Croatia Adria (winning 5 times in a span of 9 years from 1949 to 1957)
Polish White Eagles (winning 3 times in 5 years from 1966 to 1970)
Ukrainian Tridents (three straight championships - 1973 to 1975)
Croatia Adria and Italia Flyers (won every year from 1976 to 1985)

More recent history has seen both the Panhellenic Zeus (2009/2010) and Italia Flyers (2011/2012) win twice each, with Croatia Adria capturing their first Anderson Cup since 2008 in the summer of 2013.

Return to Home Page

Article Archive


© 2003 Design by Adélie Solutions