Greater Sudbury Soccer Club
Greater Sudbury Lacrosse Association
Eddies RestaurantCaruso Club
Garson Hounds take Rick McDonald Memorial Fastball League title
(picture not found)

With the Rick McDonald Memorial Fastball League championship on the line, the Garson Hounds got out of the gates like gangbusters.

In a series with the Drillers that was tied at two games apiece, with the majority of those being closely contested outings, game five would buck the trend.

You can blame the top of the Hounds order for that.

After the first two Garson batters (Scott Ropp and J-P Peltier) reached base, Brent Assinewai provided the league champs with all of the offense they would need, belting a three-run dinger as the Hounds blanked the Drillers 6-0, taking the league final showdown in five games.

The Hounds added another run in the first and two more in the sixth while Ropp tossed a tidy two-hit shutout as the Garson crew follow on the footsteps of the 2020 league championship run by the Atlas Dewatering North Stars.

Six different players would cross the plate for the winner in a very balanced effort.

Rounding out the Hounds roster are Curt Brown, Cory Lavoie, Blair Morrison, Jordan Bennett, Jason Cashmore, Nick MacGregor, Eric Legendre, Owen Peltier, Eddie Brennan, Lawrence Dashner, Rod Goode and Paul Lizotte.

RemaTech Industries