SRWC - Chartered Professional Accountants
Sudbury's Most Complete Local Sports Coverage
The Baseball Academy
  In-Season | Off-Season
High School Sports
Track & Field/Road Racing
Boxing/Judo/Wrestling/Martial Arts
Elementary School Sports
ParaSports - Special Olympics
Laurentian/Cambrian/Boreal Sports
Equestrian Events
This Week in Sports
Announcements (tryouts/tournaments/registration)
Bushtukah Great Outdoor Gear
Auto Depot - Sudbury
Tuesday, Apr. 23, 2019
New faces in the spotlight at R.H. Murray races
by Randy Pascal

A smaller field of schools and runners allowed for a different set of athletes to grab the spotlight as the R.H. Murray Public School cross-country races followed on the footsteps of the phenomenom that is the Laurentian University Elementary Cross-Country Challenge.

After finishing 13th in a field of 282 runners at L.U., Ethan Schledewitz of Lively District Elementary School took top spot in the Intermediate boys race, outkicking the Churchill tandem of Brandon Radey and Seth Marlok.

Placing five athletes in the top 51 of the Intermediate Girls Division at Laurentian, Churchill Public was front and center in Naughton, sweeping the top three placements courtesy of Peyton Brear, Lexi Johnson and Elaina Allen.

The host school earned bragging rights in the Junior Girls event as Olivia McLean and Finlay Cuza formed a powerful one-two punch for the R.H. Murray Muskies, with Claire Schmidt of Algonquin garnering bronze.

In the Junior Boys race, Adam Scott of Walden Public had already established himself as one of the top runners in the city in his age bracket, sliding in behind only Devan Madore (St John) and Nolan Kuhlberg (R.L. Beattie) at Laurentian.

This time around, he would stand atop the podium, besting Christian Hodgins of Churchill and schoolmate Matti Jouppi. Following is a breakdown of the top ten finishers in each of the four divisions:

Junior Girls
1st - Olivia McLean - R.H. Murray
2nd - Finlay Cuza - R.H. Murray
3rd - Claire Schmidt - Algonquin
4th - Vanessa Fruehwald - Algonquin
5th - Alaina Marolt - St Paul
6th - Payton Stos - Walden Public
7th - Robyn Connors - Queen Elizabeth
8th - Mya Ricci - St Paul
9th - Carley Sobiera - Walden Public
10th - Ruby Butin - Larchwood

Junior Boys
1st - Adam Scott - Walden Public
2nd - Christian Hodgins - Churchill
3rd - Matti Jouppi - Walden Public
4th - Seth Lagadin - Walden Public
5th - Byron Nelson - Walden Public
6th - Greydon Digby - Walden Public
7th - Dylan Nelson - Walden Public
8th - Corey Lacroix - St Paul
9th - Jonah Gibson - Walden Public
10th - Ben Smith - Algonquin

Intermediate Girls
1st - Peyton Brear - Churchill
2nd - Lexi Johnson - Churchill
3rd - Elaina Allen - Churchill
4th - Theresa Finley-Gauthier - Churchill
5th - Hunter Brear - Churchill
6th - Kaitlyn Lloyd - Churchill
7th - Summer Pratt - Lively District
8th - Rory Malleau - St Paul
9th - Madelaine Rocha - St Paul
10th - Abby Pitre- Larchwood

Intermediate Boys
1st - Ethan Schledewitz - Lively District
2nd - Brandon Radey - Churchill
3rd - Seth Marlok - Churchill
4th - Luke Horner - R.H. Murray
5th - Aiden Soltys - St Paul
6th - Marshal Spry - Lively District
7th - Carver Rilkoff - Larchwood
8th - Drake McDonald - R.H. Murray
9th - Owen Roney - Larchwood
10th - Nicholas Persechino - Churchill

Westmount Hospitality Group
About Us | Contact Us | Advertising | Legal
© 2003 Design by Adélie Solutions